Untitled Document

Our Home

Chellhof Haus

The "Chellhof" is one of the oldest houses in Benken. It was probably built between 1540 and 1580 (possibly after the great village fire of 1560). The name goes back to the seat of the lord of the manor, the "cellarius" of the monastery Rheinau , who had the task to collect the basic interest (at that time of course in form of natural goods) in favour of the monastery. The special character of the court is characterized by further - partly very old - timber-framed buildings.
We were able to take over our part of the house in September 1982 and have been renovating it ever since, always trying to preserve the charm of the old house without restricting the functionality and modern demands too much.
This included the extension of the former "Trotte" part (Trotte = large, old wine press). In the lower part there now is a garage and a small workshop , above this a hobby carpenter's workshop and under the roof two generous rooms for our children. Since summer 2011, the former children's rooms have been made available to our B&B guests as room "Gentlemen" and room "Ladies".
A little later we furnished the room in the mezzanine, the room "Hats", to serve, if necessary, as foot care and massage room as well as a guest room.

Untitled Document

Euses Huus

Chellhof Haus

Der „Chellhof“ gehört zu den ältesten Häusern von Benken. Es dürfte zwischen 1540 und 1580 (möglicherweise nach dem grossen Dorfbrand von 1560) erbaut worden sein. Der Name geht zurück auf den Sitz des grundherrlichen Beamten, des „cellarius“ des Klosters Rheinau, der die Aufgabe hatte, die Grundzinsen (damals selbstverständlich in Naturalien) zu Gunsten des Klosters einzutreiben. Der besondere Charakter des Hofes wird mitgeprägt durch weitere – zum Teil sehr alte – Riegelbauten.
Wir konnten unseren Hausteil im September 1982 übernehmen und haben seither immer wieder Renovationsarbeiten vorgenommen, wobei wir uns immer bemühten, den Charme des alten Hauses zu erhalten, ohne die Zweckmässigkeit und moderne Ansprüche allzu sehr einzuschränken.
Dazu gehörte der Ausbau des ehemaligen Trottenteils (Trotte = grosse, alte Weinpresse). Im unteren Teil entstand dort eine Garage und kleine Autowerkstatt , darüber eine Hobby-Schreinerei und unter dem Dach zwei grosszügige Zimmer für unsere Kinder. Seit dem Sommer 2011 stehen die ehemaligen Kinderzimmer für unsere B&B-Gäste zur Verfügung, das Manezimmer und das Frauezimmer.

Etwas später richteten wir das Hutzimmer im Hochparterre, das bei Bedarf auch als Fusspflege- und Massageraum dient, ebenfalls als Gästezimmer ein.
Die Nasszelle im Estrich entstand 2001, das Bad mit Toilette im Hochparterre wurde 2009 umfassend erneuert.
Die Renovation der Küche wurde 1986 abgeschlossen.